Reserve materials are processed by the Public Services Manager. Faculty may place items on Reserve for specific classes each semester. Reserve items include materials from the EKS Library collection, personal copies of books, films, etc., and journal articles with specific conditions.
Reserves require a small amount of paperwork from the professor prior to processing. Materials are placed on Reserve by the faculty member completing a Reserve form for the type of item they wish to place on Reserve. Items in the EKS collection should be retrieved from the stacks and listed on the appropriate form by the faculty member.
Items on Reserve may only be used inside the Library and the check out period may not exceed three hours. Patrons must have their Wingate University ID card for check out. E-Reserves may be accessed from the computers located in the Library or from computers connected to the campus network.
Following copyright creates constructive implications for Library purchases, keeps curriculum and resource materials current, and models positive citation elements for your students.
It is the responsibility of the faculty member to comply with federal copyright laws. The EKS Library will follow federal copyright laws. The Library staff reserves the right to deny a request we request we consider to be a violation of these laws. If the faculty member can supply sufficient documentation that the item is copyright-free material or written permission from the copyright holder to use the material in this manner, copyright guidelines will be waived. For copyright hints, check out the following websites:
The United States Copyright Office (http://www.copyright.gov/)
Fair Use (citation for information below: http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl102.html) One of the rights accorded to the owner of copyright is the right to reproduce or to authorize others to reproduce the work in copies or phonorecords. This right is subject to certain limitations found in sections 107 through 118 of the Copyright Act (title 17, U. S. Code). One of the more important limitations is the doctrine of “fair use.” Although fair use was not mentioned in the previous copyright law, the doctrine has developed through a substantial number of court decisions over the years. This doctrine has been codified in section 107 of the copyright law. Section 107 contains a list of the various purposes for which the reproduction of a particular work may be considered “fair,” such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Section 107 also sets out four factors to be considered in determining whether or not a particular use is fair:
the purpose and character of the use, including whether such use is of commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes;
the nature of the copyrighted work;
amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the copyrighted work as a whole; and
the effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work.
Other Copyright Requirements from the EKS Library Staff:
Photocopies from books: no more than 10% of the book is allowed for any in-print or reasonably obtainable book.
Photocopies from journals: only one article from any single issue (not volume) is allowed.
One print copy (and an electronic copy on E-Reserve) of an article may be placed on Reserve for one semester without the copyright holder’s permission.
Journal articles available through the Library’s database subscriptions: these articles may not be placed on Reserve; supply your class with the citation and retrieval method for the specific database.
Journal articles available through the Library’s print subscription collection: these articles may not be placed on Reserve; these collections are maintained in the Closed Stacks, which insures close monitoring and convenient accessibility.
InterLibrary Loan Photocopies: these items may not be placed on Reserve.
Internet material is subject to copyright law; provide your students with the URL for the website.
Textbooks may not be placed on Reserve. The Library does not collect textbooks within the current curriculum.
Reserves requests should be submitted to the Public Services Manager prior to assigning them to your classes.
Items submitted to the Public Services Manager during regular office hours Monday through Friday will be entered into the computer and available for retrieval by patrons within 24 hours of the initial Reserve request.
From the EKS Library collection, no more than 20 monographs per course may be placed on Reserve.
For article(s) placed on Reserve, a class roster will be required to post articles as E-Reserves for access via the web. Per copyright restrictions, only students registered in the course may access the material electronically. One copy of the article(s) will remain at the Main Circulation Desk.
All items placed on reserve will be removed at the end of each semester and returned to the EKS collection or the faculty member’s private library from which the materials originated.
Copies of specific items may be produced for the purposes of preservation. This decision will be made on a case-by-case basis and at the discretion of the Librarians.
Librarians are not allowed to function as copy agents.
Updated: April 2015