Check out this video on "Primary, Secondary, Tertiary Resources" from the Beam Library at Oklahoma Christian University.
SECONDARY: sources are analyses of, commentary on, critiques about, or responses to Primary Sources. Reputable secondary materials have been well-vetted via the peer-reviewed process.
TERTIARY: items are often compilations of excerpts from Secondary Sources and can be used to identify themes or threads pertaning to concepts in a discipline. While subject-specific encyclopedias and dictionaries are ideal for supplemental information about a topic, these types of tertiary sources should only be consulted for initial research and not for citation.
The Library's article discovery service Full Text Finder makes it easy to locate journals and full-text articles. Publications are often available in multiple databases. For a specific article within a journal, choose the database with the correct coverage period for the volume and issue needed. Note: Journals listed with full text delay or an embargo date (i.e Full Text Delay: 1 year) means you can only access articles prior to 1 year from the date of your search.
Scholarly Journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications: what's the difference?
Check out this video on "Magazines and Scholarly Journals" from the University of Arkansas Libraries.
POPULAR SOURCES: Popular sources contain articles on topics of popular interest written in a non-scholarly style, while journals contain articles of original research and commentary including footnotes and works cited. Avoid citing popular magazine articles in your work. If a magazine article contains compelling information, look for references in the article and then locate that reference source for use in your assignment.
TRADE PUBLICATIONS: Trade journals are aimed at readers who operate within a specific industry. Some journals are accessable online for free, and others require a subscription. The EKS Library provides access to databases that contain articles from an array of trade publicaitons.
SCHOLARLY JOURNALS: are peer-reviewed or refereed journals. Prior to publication, articles undergo a critical review process by experts / referees on the subject who evaluate the quality of the research.
Most academic libraries use the Library of Congress system. The system is fairly easy to understand if you know how to read it.
Books are assigned a main subject, and then divided into sub-subjects as needed.
Items are then divided into sub-headings:
Finally books are further divided into even more specific subject headings: