Skip to main content

ER 7950: Doctoral Capstone Project - Compton - Fall 2017: Periodicals

Types of Periodicals

Check out this video on "Magazines and Scholarly Journals" from the University of Arkansas Libraries.

POPULAR SOURCES: Popular sources contain articles on topics of popular interest written in a non-scholarly style, while journals contain articles of original research and commentary including footnotes and works cited. Avoid citing popular magazine articles in your work. If a magazine article contains compelling information, look for references in the article and then locate that reference source for use in your assignment.

TRADE PUBLICATIONS: Trade journals are aimed at readers who operate within a specific industry. Some journals are accessable online for free, and others require a subscription. The EKS Library provides access to databases that contain articles from an array of trade publicaitons.

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS: are peer-reviewed or refereed journals. Prior to publication, articles undergo a critical review process by experts / referees on the subject who evaluate the quality of the research. 

NEWSPAPERS: articles are published daily and filled with factual informaiton about events. Factual articles can count as primary sources if they only report the facts available at the time and are the first published account of an event and are not analytical or theoretical (editorials/opinion pieces). The EKS provides access to newspapers electronically and in physical format.

Locating Publications

The Library's article discovery service Full Text Finder makes it easy to locate journals and full-text articles. Publications are often available in multiple databases. For a specific article within a journal, choose the database with the correct coverage period for the volume and issue needed.  Note: Journals listed with full text delay or an embargo date (i.e Full Text Delay: 1 year) means you can only access articles prior to 1 year from the date of your search. 

Education and Psychology Journals

Suggested Periodicals

Search by title in the Library's Full Text Finder service to find access and coverage dates for these periodicals:

  • Brigham Young University Education and Law Journal

  • Education and the Law

  • Journal of Law & Education

  • School Law Bulletin

  • Special Education Law Monthly

  • The Yearbook of Education Law

  • Your School and the Law