This is the "Background Info" page of the "Biology Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology Subject Guide   Tags: biology  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/biology/subjectguide Print Guide RSS Updates

Background Info Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Start at the Research Desk?

Not familiar with some terminolgy a professor used in class?

A specialized dictionary can provide an authoritative definition.

Need to know who the major scholars or what the significant lines of inquiry in your field are?

Subject encyclopedias, bibliographies, and research guides can provide background context and information to help bring you up to speed.

Not sure where to begin your research project?

Reference resources can be great keyword and thesis generators to help you search the library catalog and databases more efficiently.

Need another reason?

It's where the Reference Librarians are - we're always glad to help!

E-Reference Sources

 

Sample Print Reference Resources for Biology

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Biology
Call Number: QH302.5 .D54 2008
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: QD415.A25 B713 1997
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology
Call Number: QH540.4.E52 1995 v.1-3
Location: Reference

Cover Art
The Evolution Wars: A Guide to the Debates
Call Number: QH361 .R874 2008
Location: Reference

 

Research Questions

Where do you start your research? For assistance locating or using Library resources, consider visiting the EKS Library Research Desk on the first floor of the Library. The desk is staffed with Librarians until 10PM Sunday through Thursday.  Sunday hours begin at 3PM. Weekday hours begin at 10AM. See our full calendar for summer and holiday hours.

Phone: 704-233-8097


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip