This is the "Music Literature" page of the "University Music Editions Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University Music Editions Guide  

EKS Library microfiche collection of major music scores, literature, and reference works.
Last Updated: Jan 20, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/umefiche Print Guide RSS Updates

Music Literature Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Printing from Microfiche

The University Music Editions binders are located on the shelves next to the Reference Desk.

Printouts may be made from the microfiche reader for 10¢ per page.

Please ask a librarian for assistance - we'll be glad to help!

Music Literature (Journals, Treatises, Lexicons, and Collections) (Musicological Reference Works)

Publisher descriptions and EKS Library call numbers:

  • BÄUMKER, Wilhelm
    Das katholische deutsche Kirchenlied in seinem Singweisen. (German Catholic Hymn Melodies) Published in Freiburg, 1883-1911. A collection of Catholic hymns from the earliest times to the end of the 19th century based on mss and printed sources. The author includes hymnals, poets, composers, editors of hymn books, and hundreds of hymn melodies. In 4 volumes, 2,372 pages. [M3.B328 1972]
  • BERNHARD, W.
    Allgemeines deutsches Lieder-Lexikon. Leipzig, 1844-1846. Song texts of 2,479 lieder and other songs of German origin with a categorical index. In 4 volumes, 1,285 pages. [M3.B468 1977]
  • COUSSEMAKER, Charles E.H. de
    Three works as one microfiche collection: L'art harmonique aux XIIe XIIIe siécles, 556 pages; Histoire de l'harmonie au moyen-âge, 431 pages; Scriptorum de musica medii aevi nova series, 4 volumes, 2,122 pages. Published in Paris, respectively in 1865,1852, and 1864-1876. These classic works have long been recognized as vital to the study of the music of theMiddle Ages. A total of 6 volumes, 3,122 pages. [M3.C687 1973]
  • GERBERT, Martin
    Four works as one collection: De cantu et musica sacra a prima ecclesiae, 2 volumes, 1,400 pages; Vetus liturgia alemannica, 2 volumes, 1,064 pages; Monumenta veteris liturgiae alemannicae, 2 volumes, 898 pages; Scriptores ecclesiastici de musica sacra potissimum, 3 volumes, 1,166 pages. The four works were published respectively in 1774, 1776, 1777-1779, and 1784. The Scriptores contains the text of over 40 medieval theorists. This collection totals 9 volumes and over 4,600 pages. [M3.G47 1977]
  • HANDBUCH DER MUSIKALISCHEN LITERATUR (Handbook of Musical Literature)
    Editors: Whistling and A. Hofmeister. Leipzig, 1817-1900. The Whistlng-Hofmeister Handbuch is a uniquely valuable reference work with information about first editions of music publications, instrumentation, arrangements, prices, and other details. Every type of 19th century European music is included here as well as writings about music. Essential for bibliographic search of the music published over an 82-year period. In 27 volumes with over 10,000 pages. [ML113.H35 1975]
  • MARPURG, Friedrich W.
    Eight works in one fiche collection: Der kritische Musikus an der Spree, 1750; Abhandlung von der Fuge, 1753-1754: Historischkritische Beytraeger zur Aufnahme der Musik, 1754-1778; Handbuch der Generalbasse und der Composition, 1757-1762; Kritische Briefe über die Tonkunst, 1760-1764; Die Kunst das Clavier zu spielen, 1762; Anleitung zum Clavierspiel, 1765; Neue Methode allerley Arten vom Temperaturen dem Claviere aufs bequemste mitzuteilen, 1790. In 13 volumes, 5,573 pages. [ML195.M37 1977]
  • ZAHN, Johannes
    Die Melodien der deutschen evangelischen Kirchenlieder. Gütersloh, 1889-1893. A collection of German Protestant hymn melodies from 1523 to Zahn's time. Melodies are in alphabetical and chronological order, with composers, sources, variants, etc. 6 vols., 3,668 pages. [M3.Z33 1978]

Ask A Librarian!

Profile Image
Amee H. Odom, MLIS, MA
Contact Info
Director
Ethel K. Smith Library
First Floor
704-233-8096
Send Email
 

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip