EKS Library microfiche collection of major music scores, literature, and reference works.
Last Updated: Jan 20, 2015
The University Music Editions binders are located on the shelves next to the Reference Desk.
Printouts may be made from the microfiche reader for 10¢ per page.
Please ask a librarian for assistance - we'll be glad to help!
Publisher descriptions and EKS Library call numbers:
- BIBLIOGRAPHY OF AMERICAN HYMNALS (BAH)
Edited by L Ellinwood and E. Lockwood. A listings of 7,500 citations with title, imprint, year of publication, compiler, pagination, location of copy indexed, intended religious denomination, and name of indexer. The BAH is the equivalent of 1,500 printed pages and is the companion to the Dictionary of American Hymnology. [ML128.H8 H996 1983]
- THE JOHANNES HERBST COLLECTION (c. 1752-1812)
The complete collection of Herbst manuscripts in the archives of the Moravian Foundation in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. Published in four sections: A.) CONGREGATION MUSIC. B.) MANUSCRIPT SCORES. C.) MISCELLANEOUS SCORES. D.) ADDENDA. The Herbst Collection contains the works of 58 composers, mostly Moravians and some baroque and classical masters. The text throughout is mostly German. The Collection has well over 1,000 works totaling 11,676 pages. [M3.H47 1976 v.1-2 ]
- THE NATIONAL TUNE INDEX: 18th Century Secular Music (NTI/1)
(The British-American Repertory). By Kate Van Winkle Keller and Carolyn Rabson. A major, ground-breaking and comprehensive reference tool which for the first time gives access to the secular repertory of 18th century America. Published in l980, the NTI/1 has since served as the definitive tool for research in the music of the period. It has been of value to musicologists, folklorists, performers, and historians of dance, drama, and social culture, and of British music. [ML120.U5 K44 1980]
- THE NATIONAL TUNE INDEX: Early American Wind and Ceremonial Music, 1636-1836 (NTI/2)
By Raoul Camus. Fully compatible with NTI/1(above), this second phase of the NTI covers the roots of early American wind band, field music, percussion, and ceremonial music. British, French, and Hessian sources form most of the database with others from Sweden, Belgium, Ireland, and other parts of the UK. The music covered in this work played a vital role in the life of early America, combining social, religious, military, and ceremonial traditions and experiences. [ML120.U5 C35 1989]