This is the "E-Resources" page of the "Policy Manual 2016-2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Policy Manual 2016-2017  

Last Updated: Jul 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/policymanual Print Guide RSS Updates

E-Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Electronic Resources

Mission

The Electronic Resources Department exists in order to provide access to various types of research mediums and scholarly resources intended to support courses currently taught in the University's disciplines, primarily at the undergraduate level. However, access to items in the electronic resources collections is not restricted to undergraduate use only.

Collections are maintained in a variety of formats such as: online journals, periodicals, databases, eBooks, indexing services, and microforms to name a few.

Regarded as a cohesive collection, the Electronic Resources Department falls under the supervision of the Digital Services Librarian.

General Policies & Procedures

It is the responsibility of the ERD and his/her team to evaluate holdings in electronic subscription format.

Holdings considerations and decisions are maintained based upon a system of evaluation which includes patron usage statistics and academic requirements, such as departmental accreditation needs, the academic curriculum, full-time student enrollment, and declared majors within a discipline. Contributing factors include the research needs demonstrated by patron Interlibrary Loan statistics, and Library budgetary constraints.

Faculty is encouraged to provide input of materials for consideration via the Digital Services Librarian or a Library Liaison. Resources under consideration for the Wingate University community will be reviewed by the ERD and his/her team. However, final decisions regarding subscriptions for Electronic Resources remain with the Digital Services Librarian.

E-Resources include licensened content, packaged collections, individual journals, vendor services, consortial agreements, and publisher rights. These components significantly impact budgeted monies for spending by the Library during the academic year. Therefore, it is not within the departmental policy to allocate money to departments outside of the Library. A collaborative approach between the Library and Faculty is highly encouraged for resource selection and maintenance to ensure collections support the academic curriculum, therefore meeting the needs of our community of users. 

De-selection & Subscription Adjustments

Consistent evaluation of Electronic Resources is practiced to ensure that the Library collections remain useful, authoritative, and relevant to a changing curriculum. The collection should reflect the development and currency of knowledge in a discipline. The ERD strives to ensure that the collection meets current curriculum and research needs by encorporating essential components into the evaluation process such as usage statistics. Collection evaluation is a process that maintains or improves the quality of accessible resources. Collaborative input from Faculty is an important element in making subscription adjustment decisions. The Digital Services Librarian advocates for additional funding annually to support continuing and/or increasing resources in the collections. Faculty members may be called upon to partner with the Library by providing commentary supporting such fiscal requests.

Updated: July 2017

Ask A Librarian!

For more information about E-Resources contact:

Profile Image
Debra H. Hargett, MLIS
Contact Info
Digital Services Librarian
EKS Library, Second Floor
Communication & Education Liaison

704-233-8100
Send Email

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip