This is the "Periodicals" page of the "HIST 318 (Hyland): the United States and Latin America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 318 (Hyland): the United States and Latin America  

Dr. Hyland, Fall 2012
Last Updated: Jan 2, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/hist318fall12hyland Print Guide RSS Updates

Periodicals Print Page
  Search: 
 

Suggested HIST 318 Periodicals

History Periodicals

Searching for Periodicals

Use the links below to find articles from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, etc.

  • Periodicals by Title
    The Library's Periodicals by Title service indicates which periodicals are held by the EKS Library, in what format (online, print, or microfilm/fiche), and for what coverage dates. If a publisher embargo is listed, this indicates the current period of time in which online access is not available. If the needed coverage date is not available online or in print in the library, use InterLibrary Loan to request a copy.
  • LexisNexis Academic (LexisNexis)
    Provides access to over 9,000 full-text news, business, medical, and legal publications. News coverage includes deep backfiles and current stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. EKS subscription.
  • InterLibrary Loan
    If you need a book not owned by the EKS Library or an article not available in full text online, simply request them via InterLibrary Loan. While there is no charge for books, articles and other printed information cost 10ยข per page.
 

Types of Periodicals

Journals, magazines, newspapers: what's the difference?

Check out this video on "Magazines and Scholarly Journals" from the University of Arkansas Libraries.

MAGAZINES: contain articles on topics of popular interest written in a non-scholarly style, while journals contain articles of original research and commentary including footnotes and works cited.

SCHOLARLY JOURNALS: are peer-reviewed or refereed journals. Prior to publication, articles undergo a critical review process by experts / referees on the subject who evaluate the quality of the research.

Make sure you are using the appropriate type of resource required by your professor. If in doubt, just ask a librarian - we'll be glad to help!

 

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip