The Library has access to over 70 different databases on the All Databases page, but a shortlist of some subject-specific databases that may be appropriate for your class is provided below:
If your assignment requires scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, don't forget to click the Peer Reviewed check box in the list of database limiters if available!
Database Demo #1: Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database that is a great starting place for most any topic.
Try a sample search as follows:
- Enter United States in the first search box, Latin America in the second search box, and foreign relations in the third search box
- Limit your results to Peer Reviewed documents if necessary
- Do not select the limiter for Full Text - the LinkSource icon on the results page will connect you with articles not full text in Academic Search Complete
- Click the Search button
On the results page you can:
- Refine or narrow your results with the options in the left-hand sidebar
- Use the magnifying glass abstract icon to get a quick overview of the article without having to open the file
- Check for the full text of the article by looking for the HTML or PDF icons
- Click on the blue article title hyperlink to print or email the article - be sure to select the proper citation style and check it for accuracy when you email the article to yourself!
- If there is no full text access to the article, use the LinkSource icon to check for alternate access in another database
- If there is no online access, check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription
- If there is no access either online or in print, use InterLibrary Loan to request a copy of the article
Database Demo #2: CQ Researcher Online
Each report in CQ Researcher Online contains an overview, background and chronology, current situation, pro/con statements, and more.
Try a Quick Search for Latin America and:
- Click on a blue title hyperlink to access the full report
- Check out the overview, pro/con section, etc.
- Click the blue author's name hyperlink for author details
- Use the links at the top to view the PDF version, send via email, or print
- Click on the Cite Now! link for citation information (also displayed at the bottom of the article)
- View the Issue Tracker box for more related reports