This is the "Using Databases - CINAHL" page of the "NURS 325 - Science Based Nursing - Spring 2017 - Brown" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NURS 325 - Science Based Nursing - Spring 2017 - Brown   Tags: allied health, nursing, science based nursing  

Dr. Brown, Spring 2017
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/nurs325spring17brown Print Guide RSS Updates

Using Databases - CINAHL Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Research Articles in CINAHL

To find scholarly research articles, perform the following steps in CINAHL

  1. Click on the Advanced Search link located below the basic search field on the PubMed landing page.
  2. Then use the builder to create your search. Here we use ("pressure ulcer" or bedsore) as the first term and treatment as the second.

    If you're looking for Qualitative research:

    You can enter MeSH Term in the field to search, followed by qualitative research.

    Example MeSH search in the Select a Field (optional) area of the search builder select MH Exact Subject Heading:

    You can select under Clinical Queries
    Qualitative - High Sensitivity to find all such mentions of your keywords
    Qualitative - High Specificity to find all the most relevant mentions of your keywords


    You could also do a regular search and then limit your results to:

    • Interview 
    • Anecdotes 
    • Commentary

    If you're looking for Quantitative research:
    You can perform a search and limit your results to publication type:

      • Randomized control trials
      • Research
    • Research Articles
    • Meta Analysis
    • Clinical Trial

    You can also use the "Research Article Limiter" to find quantitative research articles.

Sample Result set:

On the results page you can:

  • Refine your results by using filters/limiters in the left hand column.
    You can filter by: Publication Year, Publication Title, Topic/Subject, and Content Type.

  • Note the rectangle icons at the far right of each entry. Their coloration indicates access level.
     


  • In a full text article, you'll have the options to download the PDF by clicking on the Icon/link
  • You can also export or save citations.
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription OR request the article through InterLibrary Loan.

             Tip: Create a Science Direct account to create Topic, Search, or Journal/Book-Series alerts that will notify you about new publications related to your interests

 

Finding Research Articles in CINAHL

To find scholarly articles that contain actual research, perform the following steps in CINAHL.

  1. Click on the Advanced Search Link below the search box on the CINAHL landing page.
  2. Enter "turning patients" in the first search box (do not click Search yet)
  3. Select limiters for your search such as Peer Reviewed, Date Published Range, Age Groups, or Clinical Queries, or Research
  4. Do not select the limiter for Full Text - the LinkSource icon on the results page will connect you with articles not full text in CINAHL
  5. Now click the Search button

On the results page you can:

  • Refine your results in the left-hand sidebar using the same limiters as on the Advanced Search page
  • Narrow your results using the Subject terms in the left-hand sidebar
  • Use the magnifying glass abstract icon to get a quick overview of the article without having to open the file
  • Use the Add to Folder icon to gather multiple items for batch emailing
  • Check for the full text of the article by looking for HTML or PDF icons underneath the article title (look closely - it's easy to miss!)
  • Click on the blue article title hyperlink to print or email the article - be sure to select the proper citation style and check it for accuracy when you email the article to yourself!
  • If there is no full text access to the article, use the LinkSource icon to check for alternate access in another database or to use InterLibrary Loan
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription

             Tip: Create an EBSCO HOST account to organize your research.


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip