This is the "Using Databases - JSTOR" page of the "MUS 357: Music History and Literature - Lein - Fall 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUS 357: Music History and Literature - Lein - Fall 2015   Tags: lein, mus357, music  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/mus357fall2015lein Print Guide RSS Updates

Using Databases - JSTOR Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

JSTOR

 

Finding Useful Articles in JSTOR

To find useful articles, perform the following steps in JSTOR

    1. Click on the Advanced Search link located beneath the basic search box on the JSTOR landing page.
      JSTOR basic to advanced search


    2.  You've made it to the Advanced Search page. Here you can use boolean operators to construct conplex searches or execute basic searches. For this example, the search terms for the Baroque composer "Domenico Scarlatti" is enclosed in double quotations to increase result accuracy and the "Include only content I can access" option is unchecked to ensure that non-full text citations are available. If you find a good citation, you can request the article in full text through Interlibrary Loan.


    3. Before you execute your search you can specify your search's target item type, publication date range and even language. Additionally, you can search for specific publications by title or ISBN.



    4. DON'T PANIC: Nearly all content on JSTOR is peer-reviewed except for historical primary documents, so there is no limiter for this option.
    5. Now click the Search button.


Interpreting your results:

Your results screen contains the number of items found in the database, limiters to refine your search, and links to different levels of item access.
Note: For easy skimming, your search terms are highlighted in yellow.

  • Refine your results by source type using the tabs located near the top of your results.
  • The icon next to an item in your result set is only a citation and not avilable in full text (Ask for items like this through ILL) .If you're looking for full text that is immediately available online, select "Content I can access". To include citations in your results select "All Content."
  • Each search result that is available in full text will have a links. If you choose to read an article online, in most cases a button will appear on the actual article's screen.

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip