This is the "Research Planning" page of the "MUS 357: Music History and Literature - Lein - Fall 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUS 357: Music History and Literature - Lein - Fall 2015   Tags: lein, mus357, music  

Last Updated: Oct 5, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/mus357fall2015lein Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Planning Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Step 1: Search Terms from Research Question

Starting Reaserch Question:

Who was Domenico Scarlatti's and what influenced his music, what style did his music possess....particularly concerning his (insert work here), and how did he influence the history of music?
 

 Find important words, and refine ambiguous terms:

       Who was Domenico Scarlatti's and what influenced his music , what style  did his
       music possess...particularly concenrning his (insert work here),  and how did he influence the history of music?

Good Initial Search Terms:

      Domenico Scarlatti, influence, music, style, (insert work here), (history of music > legacy)

 

Step 2.1: Get Background Information

Encyclopedias

  • Overview   -   Gain a broad understanding of your topic
  • Definitions - Be an informed reader
  • Notable Names - Know the major players
  • Dates & Events - Contextualize your topic
  • Bibliographies - Fish those citations!

 General Encyclopedias

 

Oxford Reference Online

 

Finding Useful Articles in Oxford Reference Online

To find useful articles, perform the following steps in Oxford Reference Online.

    1. Enter your search terms in the search box located at the upper left of the screen.

      Tip: You can search with specified subjects by checking the box below the search dialogue. However leaving this unchecked might allow you to find your search terms in odd places you normally would not have looked.

Interpreting your results:

Your results screen contains the number of items found in the database, limiters to refine your search, and links to different levels of item access.

  • Refine your results by source type using the limiters located on the left of the results screen.


    You can add boolean operations to
    your search, as well as choose to see
    only full-text entries.
    You can limit your results by reference
    type and subject area.
    Choose the type of reference entries
    you want to view or choose to views
    entries with illustrations.
  • The  icon next to an item in your result set is only a citation and not avilable in full text (Ask for these items like this through ILL) .If you're looking for full text that is immediately available online, select or options in the limiters.

  • Each entry will include suggested bibliographic information. Please consult the ______ before using these citations in your final works cited page.
 

Step 2.2: Get Background Information

Subject Specific Encyclopedias

Extensive & scholarly  - Gain a more in-depth understanding of your topic

Cover Art
The Book of World-Famous Music: Classical, Popular and FolkEdit/Delete
Call Number: ML113 .F8 2000
Location: Reference

Cover Art
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and MusiciansEdit/Delete
Call Number: ML100 .N48 2001 v.1-29
Location: Reference

Cover Art
The Oxford History of Western MusicEdit/Delete
Call Number: ML160 .T18 2005 v.1-6
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Song Sheets to Software: A Guide to Print Music, Software, Instructional Media, and Web Sites for MusiciansEdit/Delete
Call Number: ML74.7 .A94 2009
Location: Reference
(CD-ROM shelved separately as supplement with book in Reference.)
 

Step 3: Gather More Search Terms

Build a list of keywords and synonyms

 

 "Domenico Scarlatti" • "Giuseppe Domenico Scarlatti"
+
Music • Works • Compositions
+
Style • Method • Composure
+
Influence Impact Contribution Legacy
+
"Salve Regina" sonatas


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip