This is the "Research Planning" page of the "|CHEM 2/3/491: Introduction to Chemical Research- Clontz" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

|CHEM 2/3/491: Introduction to Chemical Research- Clontz  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/chem291clontz Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Planning Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Step 1: Search Terms from Research Question

Starting Reaserch Question:

What compounds exist within the stink bug, Megacopta cribraria and how do I analyze their excretions?

 Find important words, and refine ambiguous terms:

     What compounds exist within the stink bug, Megacopta cribraria and how do I analyze their excretions?

Good Initial Search Terms:

      compounds, "stink bug", "Megacopta cribraria", analyze, excretions

 

Step 2.1: Get Background Information

Encyclopedias

  • Overview   -   Gain a broad understanding of your topic
  • Definitions - Be an informed reader
  • Notable Names - Know the major players
  • Dates & Events - Contextualize your topic
  • Bibliographies - Fish those citations!

 General Encyclopedias

 

Step 2.2: Get Background Information

Subject Specific Encyclopedias

Extensive & scholarly  - Gain a more in-depth understanding of your topic

Cover Art
Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: QD415.A25 B713 1997
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology
Call Number: QH540.4.E52 1995 v.1-3
Location: Reference

..
Cover Art
1001 Chemicals in Everyday Products
Call Number: TP200 .L49 1999
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Call Number: QD77 .H37 1999 v.5-8
Location: Reference
[v.5] Chiral reagents for asymmetric synthesis
[v.6] Reagents for high-throughput solid-phase and solution-phase organic synthesis
[v.7] Reagents for glycoside, nucleotide, and peptide synthesis
[v.8] Reagents for direct functionalization of C-H bonds

Cover Art
Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference
Call Number: T55.3.H3 L49 2002
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Call Number: TP9 .K54 2004 v.1-26
Location: Reference



 

Step 3: Gather More Search Terms

Build a list of keywords and synonyms

 

 "Megacopta cribraria" • "Stink Bug" • "Globular Stink Bug" • "Kudzu Bug" 
"Kudzu Beetle" • "Bean plataspid" • "lablab bug" • "shield bug" (who has it)
+
Compound(s) • Chemical(s) •  excretions (what it is)
+
defense • protection (when is it used)
+
odor • taste (why it works)
+
analysis • procedure • methodology (how does it work)

 


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip