This is the "Research Planning" page of the "*PSYC 206: Introduction to Critical Thinking and Research Design - Young" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*PSYC 206: Introduction to Critical Thinking and Research Design - Young  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/content.php?pid=681482 Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Planning Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Step 1: Search Terms from Research Question

Identify research material that interest you, and propose your own idea for a study.
Make minor changes to a study, design a study based on "future directions" suggested by a published author, or propose a design entirelu dissimilar to anything you're read.


Example topic of interest:
The Bystander Effect  and...

 

Step 2.1: Get Background Information

Encyclopedias

  • Overview   -   Gain a broad understanding of your topic
  • Definitions - Be an informed reader
  • Notable Names - Know the major players
  • Dates & Events - Contextualize your topic
  • Bibliographies - Fish those citations!

 General Encyclopedias

 

Step 2.2: Get Background Information

Subject Specific Encyclopedias

Extensive & scholarly  - Gain a more in-depth understanding of your topic

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Psychology
Call Number: BF31 .C65 2001
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: BF31 .E52 2000 v.1-8
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Handbook of Positive Psychology
Call Number: BF121 .H212 2005
Location: Reference



 

Step 3: Gather More Search Terms

Build a list of keywords and synonyms

 

 "Bystander Effect" • "Bystander Apathy" 
+
Computers • Online •  Cyber Digital
+
"Future Research" • "Proposed Research"
+
Methods Methodology


 

 

Research Tip: Use a Concept Map to Brainstorm

Option #1: Bubbl.us

Option #2: Coggle.it


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip