This is the "Research Planning" page of the "EL Ballantyne Cohort IX - Fall 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EL Ballantyne Cohort IX - Fall 2015  

Fall - 2015
Last Updated: Oct 5, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/elcohortIXfall2015 Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Planning Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Step 1: Search Terms from Research Question

Starting Reaserch Question:


What compounds exist within the stink bug, Megacopta cribraria and how do I analyze their excretions?



 Find important words, and refine ambiguous terms:


     What compounds exist within the stink bug, Megacopta cribraria and how do I analyze their excretions?



Good Initial Search Terms:


      "Megacopta Cribraria", compounds, analysis, excretion



 

Step 2: Consult Tertiary Sources

Encyclopedias

  • Overview   -   Gain a broad understanding of your topic
  • Definitions - Be an informed reader
  • Notable Names - Know the major players
  • Dates & Events - Contextualize your topic
  • Bibliographies - Fish those citations!

 General Encyclopedias

 Biology Specific Encyclopedias

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Biology
Call Number: QH302.5 .D54 2008
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Concise Encyclopedia Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: QD415.A25 B713 1997
Location: Reference

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology
Call Number: QH540.4.E52 1995 v.1-3
Location: Reference

Cover Art
The Evolution Wars: A Guide to the Debates
Call Number: QH361 .R874 2008
Location: Reference

 

Step 3: Gather More Search Terms

Build a list of keywords and synonyms

 

 "Megacopta cribraria" • "Stink Bug" • "Globular Stink Bug" • "Kudzu Bug" 
"Kudzu Beetle" • "Bean plataspid" • "lablab bug" • "shield bug" (who has it)
+
Compound(s) • Chemical(s) •  excretions (what it is)
+
defense • protection (when is it used)
+
odor • taste (why it works)
+
analysis • procedure • methodology (how does it work)

 

 

Research Tip: Use a Concept Map to Brainstorm


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip