This is the "Finding Articles - Fetch!" page of the "PS 201-American Government-Wiggins-Fall 2015" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PS 201-American Government-Wiggins-Fall 2015  

Last Updated: Oct 7, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/content.php?pid=684430 Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles - Fetch! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Fetch! - Articles

 

Finding useful articles with Fetch!

How to search Fetch!.

  1. Click on the Advanced Search link located beneath the basic search box on the Fetch! landing page.

  2. Our first search term will be the composer's name "no child left behind" in quotation marks.

  3. If you have a second term, enter it in the second box e.g. "effects" also leaving the field searched set to All Fields.
    The same search can also be executed by typing: "no child left behind" AND "effects" in the main search box.

  4. Repeat in additional rows as necessary.


  5. Now click the Search button.

Interpreting your results:

The main column on the page consists of the results of your search. You can sort the results by publication or relevance, and limiters that can be used to narrow your search results appear in the left column of the page.

The limiters are comprehensive, the options available to you appear in the table below.

You can choose to see
only Peer-Reviewed, Full-Text,
and/or abstracted entries.
You can also limit your publication
range.
You can limit your results by 
source type.
Other limiting options are available.
Click the drop-down arrows to see
everything that's available.


When you find an article that interests you:

  • To preview an article, you can mouse-over the  icon. A small window will appear You'll see the article's abstract, subject headings and citation information.

  • Click on the icon to access full-text of the article.
    Tip: If you have a choice to use a PDF or an html version of an article choose the PDF for accurate page numbers!

  • If a full-text version of your article is not available, click on the Full-Text Finder icon to search for your article in other linked databases.
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription.
    If the library does not have access to an article in any form, copy the citation information into the online Interlibrary Loan form.
  • If you make an EBSCO account, you can make folders and organize your research. Place articles in folders by clicking the icon and following the prompts!
  • If you are looking for additional material that the EKS does not possess, feel free to check WorldCat.org to identify material for ILL.
 

How to Read a Library Call Number

Ever wonder what all those letters and numbers on the edge of a library book mean?This video brought to you by the University of Arkansas Libraries explains it all!

 

Tips for Searching Fetch for Books

A keyword search, found in the basic search, or the Select a Field (optional) search, found in the advanced search, performs a wide search for your term in the Abstract, Author,  Subject, Title,  and Source Title fields.

This search is not the most accurate, but it does produce the largest number of results.

Sample Use: Enter a play, poem, or short story title as an All Fields search to find collected works or anthologies that contain the title

A Subject search, found in the advanced search, performs search for your term in the subject fields of all item records.

This search is a more precise search for finding items about your topic - it searches Library of Congress subject headings associated with items records to provide more accurate search results. - Note: Items can have more than one subject heading.

Sample Use: Enter an author's name (last name, first name) as a Subject search to find works about that author such as biographies and literary criticism

Sample Use: Enter a term (country name, historical period, etc.) as a Subject search to find works about that term

An Author search,  found in the advanced search, performs a search for your term in the author fields of all item records.

Sample Use: Enter an author's name (last name, first name, e.g. King, Steven) as an Author search to find all works by that author


For a other precise searches, use the following fields when searching.

Fields to Search in Advanced Search
Field Code Field Name What is Searched
TX All Text All text in the record
AU Author The Author's name
TI Title Records title field
SU Subject Record's subject area(s)
SO Source Title Title of the publication that contains the record
AB Abstract The abstract
ISSN ISSN Number Periodical International Standard Serial Number
ISBN ISBN Number Book International Standard Book Number

To use field codes in a search, begin your search on the advanced search screen and just type the field code you want before your term.

Sample Use: SU Educational accountability -- United States
Sample Use: TI "Ghosts of No Child Left Behind"

 

Understanding your Results

When you for terms in Fetch! you'll need to limit your searches to items found in the library catalog by using the Catalog Only limiter found on the left sidebar of your search results screen. After checking that box you'll be left with physical and electronic items related to your search terms. Continue filtering your results until you are satisfied with your results, you can limit by type of item, date published, language, and more!

The four things you'll need from the catalog search results to find your item in the library are: Title (Ghosts of No Child...), Call Number (LC 153.N48 C37 2011), Availability (Available), and Location (Main Stacks).

Call Numbers ending with "eb" represent eBooks or PBS Videos.  These items are accessible from the database listed within results record.
If prompted, enter your Wingnet userid and password for remote access.

 


If you find an e-book or other electronic resource you'll have to take a few more steps to get to the content:

In most cases there will be a link to the eResource, in this case the link will take you where you need to go. Other titles will display links such as


What can you do if the library doesn't have what you're looking for?!?

Use Interlibrary Loan to request books that the library doesn't have on hand! You can find your item on Worldcat.org and request the book through a simple online form!


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip