Last Updated: Nov 5, 2015
Below is a recommended short list of subject-specific databases. For a complete listing, visit the All Databases by Title guide.
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
The BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Download and analyze criminal justice data on a variety of topics. Maintained by the University of Michigan.
- Uniform Crime Report/Crime in the United States
The Uniform Crime Reports (UCR) are official data on crime in the United States, published by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). UCR is "a nationwide, cooperative statistical effort of nearly 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily reporting data on crimes brought to their attention."
The UCR contains:
- Traditional Summary Reporting System (SRS) and the National Incident Based Reporting System (NIBRS) – Offense and arrest data
- Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted
- Hate Crime Statistics Program
- Cargo Theft Reporting Program
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.
- Justice Research and Statistics Association
The Justice Research and Statistics Association is a national nonprofit organization of state Statistical Analysis Center directors, researchers, and practitioners throughout government, academia, and criminal justice organizations dedicated to policy-oriented research and analysis. The JRSA conducts policy-relevant research on justice issues of importance to the states.
- National Institute of Corrections State Statistics
This unique compilation of data provides a visual representation of key statistics for each state as well as a comparison of each state in relation to other states.
- United States Sentencing Commission: Data and Statistics
Annual Report & Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
- TRAC: Transactional Records Action Clearinghouse
- Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
A Federal Depository Library Program Electronic Collection Archive file that assures ongoing access to the Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics.
- The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
The Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool is brought to you by the Office of Postsecondary Education of the U.S. Department of Education. This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. The data are drawn from the OPE Campus Safety and Security Statistics website database to which crime statistics and fire statistics are submitted annually, via a web-based data collection, by all postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding.
- Google Public Data Search
Search through databases from around the world, including the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat and the U.S. Census Bureau. After you find what you want, filter through categories to make graphs with the axes you want.