This is the "Finding Articles - ERIC" page of the "|EL Richmond Cohort IV - 2015 Update" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

|EL Richmond Cohort IV - 2015 Update  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/elcohortIVfall2015Update Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Articles - ERIC Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center

 

Using ERIC's Thesaurus - Alternate Term

One of the useful features in ERIC is the link to the Thesaurus in the upper left corner which provides access to ERIC's internal controlled vocabulary of subject tags applied to each article. Browsing the Thesaurus terms can help you pinpoint the correct keywords to use in your search.

For example:

  • Click the Thesaurus link
  • In the Browsing window, enter multiculturalism and click Browse
  • ERIC indicates that the correct term is Cultural Pluralism
  • Click on Cultural Pluralism to view additional related search terms

Now that you have the proper descriptor, click on the link for Advanced Search, enter Cultural Pluralism, select any necessary limiters, and click Search. You can always do your own keyword search for multiculturalism or any other term, but using the Thesaurus terms can yield more relevant search results.

 

Using ERIC's Thesaurus - Term Not Found

One of the useful features in ERIC is the link to the Thesaurus in the upper left corner which provides access to ERIC's internal controlled vocabulary of subject tags applied to each article. Browsing the Thesaurus terms can help you pinpoint the correct keywords to use in your search.

For example:

  • Cick on the Thesaurus link
  • In the Browsing window, enter tracking and click Browse
  • ERIC indicates that this is not a current term but that it was used from 1968-1980
  • Click on Tracking (1968-1980) and the Scope Note provides you with the more precise descriptor Track System

Now that you have the proper descriptor, click on the link for Advanced Search, enter Track System, select any necessary limiters, and click Search. You can always do your own keyword search for tracking or any other term, but using the Thesaurus terms can yield more relevant search results.

 

Finding Useful Articles in ERIC

How to search ERIC

    1. Click on the Advanced Search link located beneath the basic search box on the Fetch! landing page.

    2. Our first search term will be the  leadership.

    3. If you have a second term, enter it in the second box e.g. education also leaving the field searched set to All Fields.

      The same search can also be executed by typing: leadership AND education in the main search box.

    4. In the Limit your results  segment of the page set the Publication Date range to find documents published within the last 10 years. You can also limit your results by educational level, audience, and document type.

Select the education level
you would like your results
to include.
You can limit your results
to the article's target
audience.

You can choose whether you
are looking for an ERIC document
or a journal article.

 

Interpreting your results:

The main column on the page consists of the results of your search. You can sort the results by publication or relevance, and limiters that can be used to narrow your search results appear in the left column of the page.

When you find an article that interests you:

  • To preview an article, you can mouse-over the  icon. A small window will appear You'll see the article's abstract, subject headings and citation information.

  • Click on the icon to access full-text of the article.

    Tip: If you have a choice to use a PDF or an html version of an article choose the PDF for accurate page numbers!

  • If a full-text version of your article is not available, click on the Full-Text Finder icon to search for your article in other linked databases.

  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription.

    If the library does not have access to an article in any form, copy the citation information into the online Interlibrary Loan form.

  • If you make an EBSCO account, you can make folders and organize your research. Place articles in folders by clicking the icon and following the prompts!

  • If you are looking for additional material that the EKS does not possess, feel free to check WorldCat.org to identify material for ILL.


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip