This is the "Databases and Resources" page of the "HIST 390 - Patterns of Violence: Comparative Genocide Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HIST 390 - Patterns of Violence: Comparative Genocide Studies  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/content.php?pid=694239 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases and Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

"Fetch!"

Articles, Books, & More...

Use your campus network login (Wingnet) credentials if prompted for access. Click here for password assistance.

Save

      
     

    Database Access Tips

    Off-campus access to Library resources is available for faculty, staff, and students with Wingnet credientials. Users will be prompted to enter their username and password. (See Image)

    A username is the first part of your Wingate email address before the @ symbol.

    Password information is available on the IT Help Desk portal, or by calling 704.233.8333 or 704.233.8092.

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Save

    Subscription Databases

    • ABI/INFORM Complete
      On the homepage click the Browse link and then scroll down to the Country heading to find the reports on business conditions in different countries:
      Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data
      Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Finance & Forecast Reports
      Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) ViewsWire
      Oxford Analytica Daily Brief Service
      Oxford Analytica Country Profiles
      Oxford Economics By Country Industry Forecast
      Oxford Economics Country Economic Forecast
    • Academic OneFile  
        
      On the homepage, click Advanced.
      Under the More Options heading, click the "Select Document Types(s)." From that drop-down menu select Country Maps, Flag, Overview locator map. culture overview, or other relevant document types. Then enter your country of interest in the search box.
    • Business Source Complete
      On the homepage, scroll down to the "Search Options" section, from there scroll down further to the "Limit your results" section. In this section find the "Publication Type" drop-down and select "Country Report" and then in the search box enter your country of interest.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      From the homepage, click the "Advanced Search" link and then under the "More Options" subheading click the "to subject area:" and select "Nation and World" from the drop-down list. Next, enter the country of your choice in the search box and click Search.

      Reference Books.
    • InfoTrac Newsstand
      : Full text access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national, international and local newspapers, as well as thousands of images and radio and TV transcripts. Includes full text of The New York Times (1985-present).

      On the homepage, click Advanced.
      Under the More Options heading, click the "Select Document Types(s)." From that drop-down menu select Country Maps, Flag, Overview locator map. culture overview, or other relevant document types. Then enter your country of interest in the search box.
    • LexisNexis Academic
      On the homepage click "Search by Content Type". Then on that drop-down menu, under the People, Places, and Things heading, click "Country Information" and enter your country of interest in the search box.
    • LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text  
        
      Journals and trade publications on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

      Useful for finding information about the information seeking capabilities and access of populations.
    • Military & Government Collection
      Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
    • Newspaper Source Plus  
        
      Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers and provides nearly 31 million full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), The Irish Times, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and more. In addition, the database features more than 677,000 television and radio news transcripts.
    • OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition  
        
      : Includes Wilson Business articles from over 1,750 publications back to 1994. View abstracts & indexing from more than 3,500 publications back to 1982 in subject areas of Applied Science & Technology, Art, Education, General Science and Humanities.
    • OxResearch Reports from Oxford Analytica  
        
      This database provides succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Additionally, it contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing.
    • Points of View Reference Center  
        
      Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.


      On the homepage, scroll down to the "Search Options" section, from there scroll down further to the "Limit your results" section. In this section find the "Publication Type" drop-down and select "Country Report" and then in the search box enter your country of interest.
    • Political Science Complete  
        
      Full text database with 530 journals, indexing and abstracts for 2,900+ titles, and over 340 full-text reference books. Contains 38,000 full-text conference papers, (including those of The International Political Science Association) and a subject-specific thesaurus with 17,500 terms providing subject searching guidance to researchers.
    • ProQuest Asian Business and Reference  
        
      Detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere.
    • ProQuest Banking Information Source  
        
      National and international information on the financial services industry, including banking trends, products, companies, issues and operations.

    Resources

    • Afrobarometer
      Afrobarometer is an African-led, non-partisan survey research project that measures citizen attitudes on democracy and governance, the economy, civil society, and other topics.
    • Arab Barometer
      The Arab Barometer producees scientifically reliable data on the politically-relevant attitudes of ordinary citizens, disseminates and applys survey findings in order to contribute to political reform, and to strengthens institutional capacity for public opinion research.
    • Eurobarometer
      The website for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. Includes surveys and studies addressing major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.
    • European Social Survey
      The European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted every two years across Europe since 2001.

      The survey measures the attitudes, beliefs and behaviour patterns of diverse populations in more than thirty nations.Data and documentation can be accessed by round (year), by theme or by country. Data are available for download and online analysis.
    • Gender Info 2010


      Gender Info 2010 is a global database of gender statistics and indicators on a wide range of policy areas, including: population, families, health, education, work, and political participation. It can be used by governments, international organizations, advocacy groups, researchers and others in need of statistics for planning, analysis, advocacy and awareness-raising. Users will find in Gender Info an easy-to-use tool to shed light on gender issues through customizable tables, graphs and maps.



      Gender Info 2010 is an initiative of the United Nations Statistics Division, produced in collaboration with the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF) and the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA). It has been adapted from DevInfo technology and presents the most up to date country-level statistics available as of October 2009.
    • Global Attitudes& Trends
      The Pew Research Center provides access to the results of various surveys and data sets concerning global attitudes on various topics.
    • Global Barometer Surveys
      Global Barometer Surveys (GBS) is the first comprehensive effort to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world.

      It provides an independent, non-partisan, multidisciplinary view of public opinion on a range of policy-relevant issues.
    • GPO: Government Printing Office
      Provides citations and links to full text where available to all types of U.S. government documents on any subject of interest to the government. Covers Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Coverage: Updated monthly with coverage back to 1976.
    • LABORSTA Internet
      View and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA, an International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics
    • Model UN Preparation
      Links to aid in preparation for participation in MUN activities from the United Nations Association of the United States of America
    • NationMaster
      Compare countries on just about anything! NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources. Using the forms below, you can get maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics with ease.
    • United Nations - Databases
      Official Documents and Bibliographic Databases
      Treaties, Declarations and Legislative Sources
      UN Members
      Terminology
      Multimedia
      Civil Society
      Climate Change
      Human Rights Issues
      Humanitarian Issues
      Non-governmental Organizations (NGOs)
      Statistical Data
      Conferences and Events
      Archives
    • World Bank Publications and Reports
      Contains links to:
      World Development Reports
      Policy Research Reports
      All Policy Research Working Papers
      World Bank Journals
      Books | Book Chapters
      Edited Volumes
      Journal Articles
      Research at Work
      Evaluation of World Bank Research
      Research Outreach Documentation
    • CIA World Fact Book
      The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
     

    Ask Ethel!


    Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

    Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

    704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
    Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
    Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
    Wingate University
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip