This is the "Using Databases - ScienceDirect College Edition" page of the "*BIO 150: Principles of Cell and Molecular Biology - 2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*BIO 150: Principles of Cell and Molecular Biology - 2017  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/content.php?pid=708177 Print Guide RSS Updates

Using Databases - ScienceDirect College Edition Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Research Articles in ScienceDirect

To find scholarly research articles, perform the following steps in ScienceDirect College Edition

  1. Click on the Advanced Search link to the right of the magnifying glass icon near the search fields on the Science Direct (SD) landing page.
  2. On the Journals Tab (selected by default), type protein AND size enclosed in double quotes in the first search box. Make sure that the boolean operator dropdown is set to AND, and then enter the term "size exclusion column chromatography" in the second search box.
  3. Select the limiter for Article.

  4. Now click the Search button

On the results page you can:

  • Refine your results by using filters/limiters in the left hand column.
    You can filter by: Publication Year, Publication Title, Topic/Subject, and Content Type.
  • Note the rectangle icons at the far right of each entry. Their coloration indicates access level.
              = No Full Text Access (through SD), 
             = Open Archive Access
             = Full Text Access
  • When you click into an article that has the symbol. You'll see the highlights of the article, the abstract, and options to locate the article elsewhere by clicking on the Linksource/Full-Text Finder Icon  

  • In a full text article, you'll have the options to download the PDF by clicking on the Icon/link
  • You can also export or save citations.
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription OR request the article through InterLibrary Loan.

             Tip: Create a Science Direct account to create Topic, Search, or Journal/Book-Series alerts that will notify you about new publications related to your interests

 

Finding Research Articles in ScienceDirect

Be sure that your article is an original research article that possesses the headings of the scientific method. Then read your article with the intent to answer the questions posed in your post lab handout. Most articles will define terms or provide decent background information to make you an informed reader and allow you to answer a good number of questions. Even if they don't they likely have references to additional articles that could be useful to you.

The example article below is being used to back up the methodology used in my lab to determine protein characteristics via size exclusion column chromatography.

  1.  I locate interesting information in the Results section:


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip