This is the "Using Databases - Wiley Online Library" page of the "BIO 150: Principles of Cell and Molecular Biology - 2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIO 150: Principles of Cell and Molecular Biology - 2017  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/content.php?pid=708177 Print Guide RSS Updates

Using Databases - Wiley Online Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Research Articles in Wiley Online Library

To find scholarly research articles, perform the following steps in Wiley Science Library

  1. Click on the Advanced Search link located at the bottom of the search box on the Wiley Online Library (WOL) landing page.
    Click on Advanced Search link

  2. Type "size exclusion column chromatography", enclosed in double quotations, in the first search box, be sure to search all fields. Then, set the second boolean operator to AND "proteins" in the second search box. Specify date ranges as needed.

    Advanced Search with phrases
  3. Choose the fields you would like to search. There are a variety of fields to search, however to ensure that you get all of the results out there related to your terms, it is best to leave the field set to "All Fields."

    Wiley Science Advanced Search Field Options

  4. Now click the Search button

Interpreting your results:

Wiley Online Results

  • Refine your results by using the filters/limiters in the right hand column.
    You can FIlter by Publication Type.

    Wiley Search Filtering List

  • To access an article or citation, simply click on the record title.
  • Inside the article you'll see a Journal column on the left of the screen. Here you can find other issues of the journal that contains your article, read about the journal to double check for peer-reviewed quality, or find other journal specific information.
  • On the right side of the screen is an Article Tools menu. Save your research to your profile, download a PDF of your full text article, and export citations.
  • To identify articles that contain full text of an article look for the icon.
  • To gain full text access to the article, click on the links. To get the most scholarly version of your article, use the PDF of the file if possible.
  • If there is no full text access to an article, search for it by title in other science databases. If you still can not find the article, request it through interlibrary loan.
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription to your journal.
 

Finding Research Articles in ScienceDirect

Be sure that your article is an original research article that possesses the headings of the scientific method. Then read your article with the intent to answer the questions posed in your post lab handout. Most articles will define terms or provide decent background information to make you an informed reader and allow you to answer a good number of questions. Even if they don't they likely have references to additional articles that could be useful to you.

The example article below is being used to back up the methodology used in my lab to determine protein characteristics via size exclusion column chromatography.

  1.  I locate interesting information in the Results section:


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip