This is the "ACS Style" page of the "*CMOS Bridge Seminar 2017" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*CMOS Bridge Seminar 2017   Tags: bridge  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/CMOS2017 Print Guide RSS Updates

ACS Style Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Style Guides Available in EKS Library

Cover Art
The ACS Style Guide - Lorrin R. Garson (Editor); Anne M. Coghill (Editor)
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
ISBN: 9780841239999
Publication Date: 2006-07-20

 

General Bibliography Guidlines

Creating a Bibliography

  • List references within your bibliography in agreement with your in-text citations. Numerical citations will be arranged in incremental order, citations utilizing authors names will be arranged alphabetically.
  • References end with a period and there are no blank lined between references.
  • If the enririty of a book or independent work is used, including page ranges is unnecessary.

 

In-Text Citations

"1) By superscript numbers, which appear outside the punctuation if the citation applies to a whole sentence or clause.

      Oscillation in the reaction of benzaldehyde with oxygen was reported previously.³


2) By italic numbers in parentheses on the line of text and inside the punctuation.

     The mineralization of TCE by a pure culture of a methane-oxidizing organism has been reported (6).


3) By author name and year of publication in parentheses inside the punctuation (known as author–date).

     The primary structure of this enzyme has also been determined (Finnegan et al., 2004). "


Bérard, P. M.; Dodd, J.S.; Solla, L. References. In The ACS Style Guide; Coghill, A.M., Garson, L.R., Eds.; Oxford University Press, Oxford ; New York, 2006, 287
Further documentation found online @ The ACS Style Guide: Chapter 14: References

 

Basic Formatting by Source Type

Book with Author(s)

Basic Format:
Author, A. A.; Author, B. B. Book Title (italics), Edition (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Pagination.

 

Book with Editor(s), and Entire Book is Referenced

Basic Format:
Editor, A. A., Editor, B. B., Editor, C. C., Eds. Book Title (italics); Series Information (if any, including series number); Publisher: Place of Publication, Year.

 

Authored Chapters in a Book with Editor(s)

Basic Format:
Author, A. A.; Author, B. B. Chapter Title. In Book Title (italics); Editor, A. A., Editor, B. B., Eds.; Series Information (if any, including series number); Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Volume number (if any), Pagination.

 

Encyclopedia Article

Basic Format:
Article Title. Encyclopedia Name (italics), Edition number; Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Volume Number, Pagination.

 

Handbooks

Basic Format:
Editor, A. A., Editor, B. B., Eds. Handbook Title (italics), Edition number [Online if online]; Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Pagination or other identifying information.

 

Journal Articles

Basic Format:
Author, A. A; Author, B. B; Author, C. C. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation (italics) [Online if online] Year (boldface), Volume (italics), Pagination.

 

The standard list of journal abbreviations is published in CASSI, the Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index. A copy is kept at the Science and Engineering Library Reference stacks.

Newspapers

Basic Format:
Last name, First Name; Last Name, First Name. Article Title. Newspaper Title (italics), Complete Date, Pagination.

 

Websites

Basic Format:
Author, A. A. (if any). Title of Site. URL (accessed date), other identifying information. (No need to include URL of subscription sites).

Cabrillo College Citation & Style Guides. http://cabrillo.libguides.com/content.php?pid=315584&sid=5319031 (accessed Aug 8, 2017)


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip