This is the "Local History/Location Research" page of the "*ENG 110: University Writing and Research - Mills" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*ENG 110: University Writing and Research - Mills  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/content.php?pid=711833 Print Guide RSS Updates

Local History/Location Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Counties and Geographic Areas

  • Digital NC: City directoriesEdit/Delete
    "The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program... The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online."
  • North Carolina Links.External Link Links to information about counties, arranged by county.
  • The NCGenWeb Project.External Link A part of the national USGenWeb Project, the home of a network of volunteers working to provide genealogical & historical content for each of North Carolina's 100 counties.
  • Ashville and Buncombe Counties. Blog.External Link Began February, 2010. This website is dedicated to Foster Alexander Sondley (1857-1931), who did much to preserve the history of the area and whose extensive library became the nucleus of the Pack Memorial Library's North Carolina Collection. The name of this website was taken from the title of his 1922 book, Asheville and Buncombe County.


Historical Sites

  • National Register of Historic Places in North Carolina
    A list of structures, sites, districts, and objects on the National Register of Historic Places in North Carolina.

  • NCPedia Historic Sites
    Links to North Carolina historic areas, townships, buildings, battle sites and even a World War II battleship! The growth and depth of North Carolina's 400 years of existence and impact on the nation and the world can be traced at these historic locations.

  • North Carolina Historical Sites
    "North Carolina Historic Sites, a group of 27 unique state historic sites, invites you to open doors into the past and more fully understand the world we live in today. Whether you live in North Carolina or are just visiting, our sites will pique the imagination, stir the mind, and lift the spirit."
 

General Searching

  • Everything NC!
    Find suggested North Carolina resources from NC LIVE.

  • NC ECHO
    NC ECHO enables users to search across thousands of digitized and born-digital historic materials including a wide variety of books, photographs, maps, family histories, state documents, newspapers, and much more...

  • North Carolina History Project
    Online encyclopedia of North Carolina history.

  • North Carolina Collection (UNC-CH Louis Round Wilson Library)
    The North Carolina Collection is dedicated to preserving literary, visual, and artifactual materials illustrating four centuries of the colony and state of North Carolina. The collection comprises three divisions: the Research Library, North Carolina Collection Gallery, and Photographic Archives.

  • Photogrammer - Yale University
    Find Depression-era archived photographs from Yale University

  • North Carolina Historical Sites
    "North Carolina Historic Sites, a group of 27 unique state historic sites, invites you to open doors into the past and more fully understand the world we live in today. Whether you live in North Carolina or are just visiting, our sites will pique the imagination, stir the mind, and lift the spirit."
 

Newspapers

Newspapers

 

Business Information

 

Maps and Topography

  • North Carolina History and Geography Bibliography. External Link A bibliography of books about history, geography and maps.
  • North Carolina Maps. External Link North Carolina Maps is a comprehensive, online collection of historic maps of the Tar Heel State. Featuring maps from three of the state's largest map collections -- the North Carolina State Archives, the North Carolina Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center -- North Carolina Maps provides an unprecedented level of access to these materials. North Carolina Maps contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and including detailed maps for each of North Carolina's one hundred counties.
  • Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection North Carolina maps.
 

Reasons to Visit

  • VisitNC.com
    A website dedicated to North Carolina tourism and notable locations within the state.
 

Notable Individuals

  • North Carolina Biography.External Link Family Search Wiki. A research strategy for finding North Carolina biographies.
  • NCPedia Biographies. External Link NCpedia, an online encyclopedia, highlights North Carolina's unique resources, people and culture. There is an A-Z browse, as well as categorization under the following topics: African Americans, Cherokee Indians, Governors, Highland Scots, Lumbee Indians, Poets Laureate, Sports, US Presidents, and Women.
 

Demographics

US Census North Carolina: Quick Facts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

 

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip