This is the "Using Databases - Proquest Psychology Journals" page of the "*PSYC 101: General Psychology - Shaban" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*PSYC 101: General Psychology - Shaban  

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/psycshaban Print Guide RSS Updates

Using Databases - Proquest Psychology Journals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Using Proquest's Thesaurus

One of the useful features in Proquest Psychology Journals is the Thesaurus option for the search box found in the Advanced search which gives you access to the database's own controlled vocabulary of subject tags applied to each article. Browsing the Thesaurus terms can help you pinpoint the correct keywords to use in your search.

For example:

  1. Cick on the Thesaurus link
  2. Enter "body image" in the search box and click Find.
  3. No results... Don't panic enter in a synonym "self image". Which then appears as a result, click the link.
  4. Click on the yellow notes icon to get a definition of the term and a list of related terms.
  5. You will see that "self image" is the preferred term for "self perception, or perception of self"
 

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Using the Advanced Search screen:

  1. Enter "self image" in the first search box (do not click Search yet)
    (Optional): Enter other search terms and utilize the boolean operators in the dropdown menus to the left of each subsequent search box)
  2. Select limiters for your search such as Peer Reviewed, Date Published, Publication Type, Specific Gender, etc
  3. Do not select the limiter for Full Text - LinkSource support isn't present, but seeing all the results can be informative.
  4. Now click the Search button

On the results page you can:

  • Refine your results in the right-hand sidebar using the same limiters as on the Advanced Search page
  • Narrow your results using the Subject terms in the right-hand sidebar
  • Hover your mouse over the Preview icon to get a quick overview of the article without having to open the file
  • Check for the full text of the article by looking for the orange HTML or Adobe PDF icons at the bottom of each result entry
  • Click on the result link.  
    • Generate Citations
    • Email the Article
    • Get a permalink
  • For added functionality create a Proquest account : Tip use an account name you'll remember and your WU Email account
  • Use the Save to my Research button Icon to place the article in a custom named folder for organizational purposes or mass emailing articles
  • If there is no full text access to the article, search other databases for the article title or to use InterLibrary Loan
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription

 

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip