This is the "Using Databases - PsycARTICLES" page of the "*PSYC 101: General Psychology - Shaban" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*PSYC 101: General Psychology - Shaban  

Last Updated: Nov 1, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/psycshaban Print Guide RSS Updates

Using Databases - PsycARTICLES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Research Articles in PsycARTICLES

To find scholarly articles that contain actual research, perform the following steps in PsycARTICLES.

  1. Click on the Advanced Search Link below the search box on the PsycARTICLES landing page.
  2. Enter "body image" in the first search box (do not click Search yet)
  3. Select limiters for your search such as Peer Reviewed, Date Published Range, Age Groups, Methodology, or Document Type.
  4. Do not select the limiter for Full Text - the LinkSource icon on the results page will connect you with articles not full text in PsycARTICLES.
  5. Now click the Search button

On the results page you can:

  • Refine your results in the left-hand sidebar using the same limiters as on the Advanced Search page
  • Narrow your results using the Subject terms in the left-hand sidebar
  • Use the magnifying glass abstract icon to get a quick overview of the article without having to open the file
  • Use the Add to Folder icon to gather multiple items for batch emailing
  • Check for the full text of the article by looking for HTML or PDF icons underneath the article title (look closely - it's easy to miss!)
  • Click on the blue article title hyperlink to print or email the article - be sure to select the proper citation style and check it for accuracy when you email the article to yourself!
  • If there is no full text access to the article, use the LinkSource icon to check for alternate access in another database or to use InterLibrary Loan
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription

             Tip: Create an EBSCO HOST account to organize your research.

 

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip