This is the "Using Databases - Business Source Complete" page of the "*MARK 301 - Principles of Marketing - Brock .." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*MARK 301 - Principles of Marketing - Brock ..  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/content.php?pid=712026 Print Guide RSS Updates

Using Databases - Business Source Complete Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Business Source Complete?

  • Over 3,800 full-text journals, including nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals
  • Detailed author profiles for over 40,650 of the most-cited authors in the database
  • Over 820 books/monographs
  • More than 11,000 case studies
  • More than 1,160,000 company profiles (Company View)
  • More than 1,200 country economic reports
  • More than 50 faculty seminar videos
  • More than 7,400 industry reports
  • More than 9,500 interviews (Executive & Analyst)
  • Over 2,500 market research reports
  • More than 3,700 SWOT analyses
  • More than 1,800 trade journals and general business magazines
  • 32 working papers collections
  • Supplemental access to Regional Business News— over 100 regional U.S. & Canadian business publications
 

Finding Useful Articles Business Source Complete

To find useful articles, perform the following steps in Business Source Complete.

  1. Click on the Advanced Search link located beneath the basic search box, and use the builder to create a search.



  2. If necessary, choose a document type:


  3. Now click the Search button.

Interpreting your results:

On the results page you can:

  • Further refine your searches as needed using the limiters found in the left column. You can limit to source type, subject, full text availability, illustrated works, and featured story.

  • To preview an article, you can mouse-over the  icon. A small window will appear You'll see the article's abstract, subject headings and citation information.

  • Click on the icon to access full-text of the article.
    Tip: If you have a choice to use a PDF or an html version of an article choose the PDF for accurate page numbers!

  • If a full-text version of your article is not available, click on the  icon to search for your article in other linked databases.
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription.
    If the library does not have access to an article in any form, copy the citation information into the online Interlibrary Loan form.
  • If you make an EBSCO account, you can make folders and organize your research. Place articles in folders by clicking the icon and following the prompts!
 

Finding Useful Articles in Business Source Complete

To discover Company Information:

  1. Click the Company Information link at the top of the database.
  2. Enter your company name in the search box. e.g. Blu Homes
  3. View:
       Financial Statistics
       Executives List
       Background Information
       Industry Information

To locate detailed Company Profiles:

  1. Mouse over the "More" dropdown on the database menu.
  2. Click Company Profiles
  3. Enter your target's name.
  4. View a detailed report containing:Background Information, Revenue Streams, SWOT Analysis, Top Competitors, and More! e.g.

To search by North American Industry Classification System:

In advanced search enter the appropriate NAICS numbers:

EG: 221114 and homes or houses

SIC SIC Description NAICS NAICS Description
1521  Single-family Housing Construction   236115  New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-SaleBuilders)  
1522  Residential Construction, Nec   236116  New Multifamily Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders)  
1522  Residential Construction, Nec   236220  Commercial and Institutional Building Construction  
1531  Operative Builders   236117  New Housing For-Sale Builders  
4911  Electric Services   221111  Hydroelectric Power Generation  
4911  Electric Services   221114  Solar Electric Power Generation  
4911  Electric Services   221115  Wind Electric Power Generation  
4911  Electric Services   221116  Geothermal Electric Power Generation  
4911  Electric Services   221117  Biomass Electric Power Generation  
4931  Electric and Other Services Combined   221111  Hydroelectric Power Generation  

To find useful articles, perform the following steps in Business Source Complete (BSC, or the database).

  1. Click on the Advanced Search link located beneath the basic search box on the BSC (SD) landing page.
  2. In the first search box type "solar homes" and (valu* or pric*) enclosed in double quotesand leave the field searched set to All Fields.
  3. Now click the Search button.
  4. You can now refine results with limiters, including some not found on the Advanced Search Screen.

On the results page you can:

  • Refine your results by using filters/limiters in the left hand column.

    Use the publication range limiter to focus your search on certain timeframes.

    You can also limit your results by industry, articles' subject headings, geographical location, and publication to name a few.

  • To preview an article, you can mouse-over the  icon. A small window will appear You'll see the article's abstract, subject headings and citation information.

  • Click on the icon to access full-text of the article.
    Tip: If you have a choice to use a PDF or an html version of an article choose the PDF for accurate page numbers!

  • If a full-text version of your article is not available, click on the icon to search for your article in other linked databases.
  • If there is no online access, don't forget to double-check Periodicals by Title to see if the Library has a print subscription.
    If the library does not have access to an article in any form, copy the citation information into the online Interlibrary Loan form.
  • If you make an EBSCO account, you can make folders and organize your research. Place articles in folders by clicking the icon and following the prompts!

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip