This is the "Additional Resources: Websites" page of the "*MARK 301 - Principles of Marketing - Brock .." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

*MARK 301 - Principles of Marketing - Brock ..  

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/content.php?pid=712026 Print Guide RSS Updates

Additional Resources: Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Additional Research Links

INDUSTRY DATA:

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/

 

Thomson Dialog (www.dialog.com) offers access to more than 900 databases containing publications, reports, newsletter, and directories covering dozens of industries

 

Price List of Lists  www.specialissues.com/lol/ Find information on hundreds of topics organized by lists. Find resources, markets and competitive information. This site takes some digging but there is a lot of information to uncover.

 

Trade Organizations – My favorite are the national trade associations in the area of your business.  These organizations often provide free information regarding the market for that industry.  http://www.associationexecs.com/acronym To look up potential association (or just search for your industry and “trade association” to locate information. 



BUSINESS DATA

ACNielsen Corporation (http://acnielsen.com) provides point-of-sale scanner data on sales, market share, and retail prices; data on household purchasing; and data on television audiences.

 

Dun & Bradstreet (http://dnb.com) maintains a database containing information on more than 50 million individual companies around the globe

 

LexisNexis (http://lexisnexis.com) Business Section—provides full-text business and financial news, U.S. and International company financial information from government and private sources, market research, industry reports, and SEC filings.  You must go through the library website to access the site for free. 

 

Factiva (http://factiva.com) specializes in in-depth financial, historical, and operational information on public and private companies

 

Hoover’s, Inc., (http://hoovers.com) provides business descriptions, financial overviews, and news about major companies around the world

 

CNN (http://cnn.com) reports US and global news and covers the markets and news-making companies in detail

 


CONSUMER DATA

 

Experian Consumer Research (Simmons) (http://smrb.com) provides detailed analysis of consumer patterns in 400 product categories in selected markets

 

Information Resources, Inc., (http://infores.com) provides supermarket scanner data for tracking grocery product movement and new product purchasing data

 

IMS Health (http://imshealth.com) tracks drug sales, monitors performance of pharmaceutical sales representatives, and offers pharmaceutical market forecasts

 

Consumer Spending Survey  program consists of two surveys—the quarterly Interview survey and the Diary survey—that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics www.demographics.com/publications/ad/index.htm   

http://stats.bls.gov/csxstnd.htm

J.D. Power and Associates (http://jdpower.com) provides information from independent consumer surveys of product and service quality, customer satisfaction, and buyer behavior

 

ComScore Networks (http://comscore.com) provides consumer behavior information and geo demographic analysis of Internet and digital media users around the world

 


 

DEMOGRAPHIC DATA

 US Census (www.census.gov) provides detailed statistics and trends about the US population.  Most of the data in its periodic economic indicators is derived from surveys of businesses and most of the demographic information comes from surveys of households or the decennial census.

 

American Demographics reports on demographic trends and their significance for business. http://adage.com/americandemographics

 

American FactFinder http://factfinder.census.gov/java_prod/dads.ui.homePage.HomePage is a new data access and dissemination system that provides useful facts and information about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information you need from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets. *FAQs—good place to go for answers on how to use American FactFinder.

 

Population Reference Bureau www.prb.org. This website provides information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications. Checkout the PRB Library and DataFinder.

 


GOVERNMENT DATA

 Securities and Exchange Commission Edgar database (http://sec.gov/edgar.shtml) provides financial data on US public corporations

 

Small Business Administration (http://sba.gov) features information and inks for small business owners

 

Federal Trade Commission (http://ftc.gov) shows regulations and decisions related to consumer protection and antitrust laws

 

Stat-USA (http://stat-usa.gov), a Department of Commerce site, highlights statistics on US business and international trade

 

US Patent and Trademark Office (http://uspto.gov) allows searches to determine who has filed for trademarks and patents

 

U.S. Census Bureau Economic Programs www.census.gov/econ/www   This Census Bureau site offers a wide variety of statistical economic information, including economic data by geography, sector, and frequency.

 

Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)  www.bea.gov  The BEA, part of the Economics and Statistics division of the USDC, produces up-to-date economic accounts statistics that enable users to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. 

 

Columbia International Affairs International CIAO www.ciaonet.org   CIAO is a comprehensive database for theory and research on international affairs. This database offers information on the background, people, geography, economy, government, military and a nice historical overview of numerous countries throughout the world.  One of its nicest features is the comparison tool!

 

CountryWatch www.countrywatch.com  is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, universities, schools, libraries and individuals needing up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world.  Country watch provides a set of political, economic, and business information about 192 countries from around the world.

 

The Women in America Report www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop/cwg/data-on-women pulls together information from across Federal statistical agencies to compile baseline information on how women are faring in the United States today and how these trends have changed over time. 

 

FedStats www.fedstats.gov/ provides access to federal statistics. These range from either agencies in general to simple statistics of differing districts.

 

The United Nations Statistical Division http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/default.htm provides both demographic and social statistics of the UN. It provides information on topics, methods, products, and databases.

 

The U.S. Census Bureau www.census.gov/ipc/www/idbnew.html provides both short- and long-term technical assistance on a wide variety of topics related to censuses, surveys, and information systems. It conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products.

 

The Ref Desk www.refdesk.com/factpop.html provides both demographic and population resources.


LOCAL MARKET DATA

 

Arbitron (http://arbitron.com) provides local-market and internet radio audience and advertising expenditure information, among other media and ad spending data

 

Simply Map (Geographic Research via NC LIVE) http://www.SimplyMap.com/login.php?  A web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Users can compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports; explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time; combine locations and search for areas based on specific criteria; and export data to word processing, spreadsheet, and presentation software. Requires creation of a free user account, go through the university library to access. 

 

Zip Skinny www.zipskinny.com Dr. Bush hooked me up with Zip Skinny where you can research a zip code in the US and then do comparisons against other zip codes.  Pretty cool. 

 

Small Business Development Center (https://www.sba.gov/tools/local-assistance/sbdc) provides technical assistance to small businesses and aspiring entrepreneurs in the region.  Look online for one near you or the the small business center at SPCC http://www.spcc.edu/27-small-business-centers.html

 

Chamber of Commerce – (http://www.unioncountycoc.com/) In the local area where you want to launch your business, look at the services and networking provided by the chamber of commerce. 

 

North Carolina Specific Sources:

http://statelibrary.ncdcr.gov/ghl/resources/statistics.html

www.ncpublicschools.org/data/reports/             

www.schs.state.nc.us/SCHS/

http://crimereporting.ncdoj.gov/

http://stats.bls.gov/eag/eag.nc.htm

www.ncagr.gov/stats/

 

Mecklenberg County Specific Sites

http://censtats.census.gov/cgi-bin/nonemployer/nonsect.pl

Charlotte Chamber of Commerce

 


 INTERNET DATA

 

ClickZ (http://clickz.com) brings together a wealth of information about the Internet and its users, from consumers to e-commerce

 

Interactive Advertising Bureau (http://iab.net) covers statistics about advertising on the Internet

 

Jupiter Research (http://jupiterresearch.com) monitors Web traffic and ranks the most popular sites

 


ADDITIONAL MARKET RESEARC DATA

 

Secondarydata.com www.secondarydata.com/ Decision Analyst Inc., an international marketing research firm, provides links to secondary sources

 

Nielsen  www.nielsen.com/us/en.html  As a global leader in measurement and information in over 100 countries, Nielsen provides clients an understanding of the consumer is the key to making the right decisions.  Some of the reports are helpful, just don’t pay for any.

 

Thanks to our marketing colleagues, current and former who have shared their resources to help create a comprehensive listing.

 -Adapted from Prof. Debbi Brock


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip