This is the "School Traditions, Local History, Appointments" page of the "Digital Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Collections  

Initiatives and partnerships of open online collections featuring local communities, digital libraries, cultural resources in North Carolina, and best practices for digital archiving & preservation.
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/digital_collections Print Guide RSS Updates

School Traditions, Local History, Appointments Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Appointments

In addition to the Library's digitized collections of academic catalogs and yearbooks with DigitalNC.org, researchers may find artifacts and print items of interest available as part of University Archives and Special Collections located at the Jesse Helms Center. Contact Wingate University's Special Collections Archivist by email or by phone (704.233.1776, ext. 6) to schedule a research appointment using the materials. The JHC is located at 3910 US Hwy 74 East, Wingate, NC, 28174.

 

University Archives

Although the collections are small, contents include:

  • Subject Files (i.e. school presidents, community affiliations, student government, campus groups)
  • Artifacts- Wingate School/College/University
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Programs- Wingate Theatre, campus guests, commencement, honors awards night, etc.
  • Student Newspaper Publications (i.e.The Flashlight, Weekly Triangle)
  • "The Gate" Yearbooks- print copies
  • Academic Catalogs- print copies
 

Special Collections

Photos, Negatives, and DVDs collected include:
  • Black and White Photos- printed images used in the yearbooks.
  • Negatives- Linn Joy Collection (Campus Photographer)
  • Slides- Un-catalogued slides from various trips or subjects of interest.
  • Small Color Photos- Un-catalogued 3x5’s, and 4X6 prints donated from the Public Relations Department.
  • DVDs- A collection containing the first season of "Wingate Today", produced for the campus broadcast.
 

School History & Traditions

 

Helms Center Information

Along with Wingate University materials housed at The Jesse Helms Center, researchers will find collections containing correspondence, committee files, and speeches by North Carolina Senator Jesse Helms, as part of the Jesse Helms Archives & Museum.


Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip