This is the "Education & Cultural Resources" page of the "Digital Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Digital Collections  

Initiatives and partnerships of open online collections featuring local communities, digital libraries, cultural resources in North Carolina, and best practices for digital archiving & preservation.
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/digital_collections Print Guide RSS Updates

Education & Cultural Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digital Public Library of America

"The DPLA planning process began in October 2010 at a meeting in Cambridge, MA. During this meeting, 40 leaders from libraries, foundations, academia, and technology projects agreed to work together to create “an open, distributed network of comprehensive online resources that would draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums in order to educate, inform, and empower everyone in current and future ­generations.

The Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access. Many universities, public libraries, and other public-spirited organizations have digitized materials, but these digital collections often exist in silos. The DPLA  brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage."

 

"Internet Archive" Library

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

The "Open Library" Project

The Open Library project began in November of 2007, with the purpose of creating a page on the web for every book ever published.  Check out this free online library with access to over 1.7 million scanned versions of books, including a publication with a local connection.

You'll see Wingate Univeristy is rooted in community, as evident in the 1985 publication by Wingate Baptist Church and Wingate College faculty member, Carolyn Caldwell Gaddy. Ms. Gaddy served a forty-three year tenure (1932-1975) as Professor of History and Political Science. She also served as a member of the Wingate Baptist Church History Committee. "Saturday Before the Second Sabith" is available here.

      

    North Carolina Collections

    More than 950 cultural repositories can be found in North Carolina.  Listed here is a small sampling of access points representing the state's rich cultural heritage and services available to utilize various collections.

    North Carolina Cultural Resources

    Genealogy Resources

    Cultural Resources in Colleges & Universities

    Access to Digital Collections in North Carolina Higher Education

    • Digital Library of Appalachia  
        
      Online contents made available from the special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries.
    • Duke University Digital Collections  
        
      Digital versions of materials found in Duke Libraries, including search tools to provide easier access to these materials. The collections aid in the preservation of materials by reducing the need for handling of the originals. Level of online access varies.
    • ZSR Digital Collections  
        
      digitizing and digitally preserving ZSR Library’s rare and unique materials in order to broaden access and use. This effort includes the creation, distribution, management, and ongoing preservation of digitized and born-digital materials for administrative, teaching, research, and public service needs.

    Photograph Collections

    Genealogy & History  Resources

    Ask A Librarian!

    Profile Image
    Debra H. Hargett, MLIS
    Contact Info
    Digital Services Librarian
    EKS Library, Second Floor
    Communication & Education Liaison

    704-233-8100
    Send Email
     

    Digital Archiving

    What is this?

     

    Digital Preservation

    Strategies & Tips


    Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

    Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

    704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
    Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
    Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
    Wingate University
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip