This is the "Home" page of the "Library Introduction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Introduction   Tags: library_intro  

Last Updated: Aug 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/introduction Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

The Ethel K. Smith Library of Wingate University is the namesake of President Budd E. Smith’s wife who held the position of Librarian from 1953 to 1974.

The Library, which is in operation an average of 80 hours per week, houses more than 100,000 print volumes in the facility, as well as database subscriptions which provide students online access to a variety of scholarly journal and newspaper titles, both general and discipline-specific material for research possibilities. ILL (InterLibrary Loan) plays a major role in student research. Should a student locate a citation for material to which the Library does not have access, the material is requested from another Library in the state, country, or another continent. 

Multimedia classrooms such as the Library Lab and the AV Auditorium provide access to computers, LCD projectors, DVD/VHS players, and the like in order to enhance the learning experience of each Wingate student.

There are various study opportunities for all learning types located in the Library. Study carrels, which provide complete privacy, are located in The Quiet Room where talking is prohibited. The Haskins Room and Mezzanine are areas available for quiet, group study and the Reference Department offers a variety of study options. 

Perhaps one of the Library’s greatest assets is its staff. Librarians are often found in the Reference Department assisting students with their research needs and teaching Bibliographic Instruction classes in which they instruct students how to search online databases, the card catalog, and the Internet. The Library’s web page provides access to its card catalog, journal holdings, NCLive, online databases, and other general information. 

The Ethel K. Smith Library also houses the campus’ flag collection. This collection represents all the countries visited by students and faculty during W’International, Springnational, Wingate-In-London, and other study abroad programs supported by the University.

Updated May 7, 2010

Director of the Library

Profile Image
Amee H. Odom, MLIS, MA
Contact Info
Director of the Library
Library 117
704-233-8096
ameeodom@wingate.edu
Send Email
 

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip