This is the "About" page of the "Wingate University Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Wingate University Special Collections   Tags: north carolina digital collections, research, special collections  

Information About Our Digital Collections
Last Updated: Nov 3, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/special_collections Print Guide RSS Updates

About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Digital Archiving

What is this?

 

Digital Preservation

Strategies & Tips

 

Our Mission

Wingate University Special Collections (WUSC) is an initiative to organize and present significant materials in digital format related to Wingate School/College/University, providing researchers information about the education community and traditions of Wingate University.

How Wingate University Special Collections Began...

Previously collected items in the University Archives (UA) are non-circulating.  However, the UA artifacts are displayed and available for viewing in the Efird Memorial Library Building by appointment.  Beginning in 2005, materials from the UA were identified by the library's e-Resources Librarian for the purpose of digitization.  Wingate University Special Collections (WUSC) began as an in-house effort with the goal of publishing online content.  In preparation for digitization, many hours were spent processing collected items. During this phase collection gaps were filled, grouped by item, and arranged by date and/or subject. 

In 2012, WUSC partnered with the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center to digitize and promote access of our first two online collections available through the DigitalNC website.  Researchers can search, view, and download items from our digitized collections of Academic Catalogs and Yearbooks. 

In 2015, collection contents were relocated to the EKS Library.  Future plans include the production of additional digitized resources related to the history of Wingate University and higher education in North Carolina. Developing collections of digitized materials is expected to encompass photographs, negatives, and 35mm slides.

      

    Ask A Librarian!

    Profile Image
    Debra H. Hargett, MLIS
    Logo - Facebook
    Contact Info
    E-Resources Librarian
    Ethel K. Smith Library
    Second Floor
    704-233-8100
    Send Email
     

    Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

    Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

    704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
    Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
    Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
    Wingate University
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip