This is the "Home" page of the "Unique Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Unique Collections  

Learn of our unique collections from BB&T, the Kincaid room, the Nippon Foundation, and the Vick Vinegar Bible.
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2015 URL: http://libguides.wingate.edu/uniquecollections Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Kincaid Collection

Kincaid RoomThe Juvenile and Young Adult books in the Ethel K. Smith Library, formally a subset of the CMC, are housed in the Mary Ann Kincaid Room.  These books are of particular interest to Education majors and faculty.  In addition to providing classic children’s books, this collection contains all the Newbery Medal winners, the Caldecott Medal winners, and the Coretta Scott King Award winners.  These books are available for standard check out by Wingate University students, faculty, staff, and FOL members.  The Kincaid Room may be reserved for classes, storytelling, or other activities by contacting the Circulation Desk at 704-233-8089.

 

The BB&T Charitable Foundation Collection

It is our privilege to introduce the BB&T Charitable Foundation Collection. The Wingate University School of Business was awarded a grant from the BB&T Charitable Foundation jointly with the Jesse Helms Center in order to support the study and research of the foundations of capitalism and free enterprise.

This grant makes possible the addition of Ayn Rand’s texts to the Ethel K. Smith Library’s collection. The Collection highlights the works of Ayn Rand, a Russian-born philosopher, who wrote extensively on the benefits of capitalism and free markets. She is responsible for originating a philosophy known as Objectivism, which provides a moral defense of the capitalist system. Rand is most recognized for her classical philosophical novel Atlas Shrugged, which is one of several fiction works that are part of this collection. Additionally, Rand wrote many non-fiction works related to her Objectivist philosophy or the capitalist system more generally.

To find this collection in the Library’s online catalog, simply enter “BB&T Charitable” into the Basic Search box and you will be linked to the entire list of items. Each item has a BB&T Charitable Foundation Collection bookplate to recognize the work in our collection.

For questions, contact Dr. Peter Frank, Assistant Professor of Economics at pfrank@wingate.edu or 704-233-8144 or the EKS Library Reference Desk at refquestions@wingate.edu or 704-233-8097.

 

Nippon Foundation Collection

Over the course of the Summer of 2009, the EKS Library applied for and was selected as a recipient of a book donation project sponsored by The Nippon Foundation. Dr. James Hastings, Assistant Professor of History at Wingate University, brought the program to the attention of the Librarians.  The focus of the book collection is “Understanding Contemporary Japan.”

A total of 43 titles were selected by Dr. Hastings and Mr. Richard Pipes, Collection Development Librarian, in order to best support the University curriculum. To find this collection in the Library’s online catalog, simply enter “Nippon Foundation” into the Basic Search box and you will be linked to the entire list of items. Each item has a Nippon Foundation bookplate to recognize the work in our collection.

We would like to extend our appreciation to Dr. Hastings and Mr. Pipes for their instrumental roles in the application and selection process. These materials will serve and enhance the resources for multiple disciplines.

Ask A Librarian!

Profile Image
Amee H. Odom, MLIS, MA
Contact Info
Director
Ethel K. Smith Library
First Floor
704-233-8096
Send Email
 

Find Us on Facebook Follow ekslibrary on Twitter Back to Top

Online Catalog | Databases | Friends of the Library | About the Library | Library News | myGate Portal | WinLINK | Moodle

704-233-8089 | library_info@wingate.edu
Ethel K. Smith Library | P.O. Box 157
Wingate University | Wingate, NC 28174
Wingate University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip